Skip to content Skip to navigation

Western Journalism and Media Fellowships

2016 media fellow Zack Colman of the Christian Science Monitor, right, talks to the science journalist and virtual reality specialist Anh Hoa Truong at the Bill Lane Center for the American West

Our Western Journalism and Media Fellowships provide opportunities for journalists working in all kinds of media — newspapers, magazines, radio, television, online, multimedia, video, film, data visualization and mapping, and books.

The fellowship enables journalists to:

  • visit Stanford and interact with researchers, scholars, and students;
  • develop or work on a project of their own design;
  • and spur new coverage and understanding of the American West.

The length of residence varies, typically from one to two weeks, although longer stays may be possible, particularly for projects that:

  • intersect with ongoing research at the Center and Stanford;
  • address significant challenges facing the American West;
  • or explore promising new possibilities for journalism and the media in the region.

Travel and accommodation costs are covered, and a modest honorarium is offered.

Read more about our media fellowships: Producing a Collaborative Media Fellowship Model at Stanford.

To Apply

Short letters of inquiry — one to two pages — are welcome on an ongoing basis.  Please address inquiries electronically to:

Geoff McGhee (
Creative Director for Media and Communications

Current and Recent Media Fellows


Michelle Garcia, Journalist and Filmmaker


John Upton, Senior Science Writer, Climate Central


Zack Colman, Knight Science Journalism Fellow and the Christian Science Monitor


Tay Wiles, High Country News
Elizabeth Zach, Rural Community Assistance Corporation


Martín QuirogaOpenFilter
Mary Ellen Hannibalscience writer


Mitch Tobin, EcoWest
Lauren Sommer, KQED Science


Kate GalbraithThe Texas Tribune
Tony Gleaton, photographer
Lauren SommerKQED Quest
Duncan McCue, CBC News and John S. Knight Fellow, Reporting in Indigenous Communities


Jeremy Miller, Harper’s Magazine
John Fleck, Albuquerque Journal
Lisa Hamilton, Real Rural

Earlier Media Fellowships


Verlyn Klinkenborg, The New York Times
John Daley, KSL-TV


Timothy Egan, The New York Times
Peter Friederici, High Country News
Jesse Hardman, National Public Radio
Judy Pasternak, The Los Angeles Times
Kurt Repanshek, National Parks Traveler


Cristopher Grosskurth, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Steven G. Johnson, Veriscope Productions
Guillermo Lopez Portillo, Televisa
Ruben Moreno, La Opinion


Matt Jenkins, High Country News
Gabriela Olivares Torres, Zeta Magazine
Kat Snow, KQED
Ray Ring, High Country News